Tags

, , ,

field-328962_1280Which one are you?  The glass is half empty or The glass is half full?

I’m pretty sure that I usually say my glass is half full.  When I’m out to eat and the server comes by to ask if I want a refill…if my glass is still half full I usually say not yet.  You see, I like to drink iced tea and I usually order unsweetened so that I can add just the right amount of sweetener for me. (The sweet tea is just a bit too sweet for me)  I don’t want her to add more unsweetened tea as I have it just where I like it.  I wait until the glass is almost empty before I get a refill.

In less literal terms, looking at things more as half full rather than half empty refers to how you look at life.  I try to be more positive especially when others find it more difficult.  My husband, on the other hand, is definitely a glass is half empty kind of person.  I find it less stressful to lean more to the positive side instead of looking at life more negatively.  Now don’t get me wrong…I have my days.  Those days when nothing is going right and you make sure the whole world knows about it. Yeah, I think we all have those days no matter how we look at our glass.

Do you know someone who is a glass is half empty person?  Are you that person?  It’s okay, I suppose, but wouldn’t you rather look at things in a more positive perspective?  There is always someone who has it better than you and there is always someone who has it worse than you.  That’s just life.  Being somewhere in the middle isn’t bad.  It gives you something to work towards and let’s you know that you’ve made some progress.

Life is full of obstacles and challenges.  How you look at it is really what matters.  Take the bad with the good, just don’t get lost in the bad.  Let the good outweigh the bad.  You can’t live life to the fullest if you are constantly focusing on what you don’t have or what went wrong.  Take it, learn from it, and move past it.  Start today…be a glass is half full type of person.

