Tags

, , , , ,

Believe in Yourself

When I worked for the Prosecutor’s office, this was the most important message I could give to the victims of domestic or sexual assault.  It was one of many things taken away from them by their abuser.  They didn’t believe in themselves.

Time and time again, I heard “I can’t do it” or “I won’t be able to do it without him”.  If there was nothing else I could help them take back, I wanted to at least help them believe in themselves again.  If you believe in yourself, you can do pretty much anything you put your mind to.  You can conquer the world.

All through life, people will challenge us and belittle us and make us feel less than.  Sometimes it is intentional and many times it isn’t.  After years of intentional and unintentional belittling I lost all faith in myself.  I felt worthless.  I reached out for things and people who were less than what I deserved.  I thought I deserved less than.  I put up with a lot of crap that I shouldn’t have just because I didn’t think I deserved anything better.  It took decades to figure out, but boy was I wrong.  We all deserve better.  We shouldn’t settle for anything less than.  Don’t settle!  Fight for what you deserve!  Reach deep inside and see the beauty that God blessed you with and embrace it!  Embrace it with everything inside of you and never let it go again.

Believe in yourself!

