Tags

, ,

use your manners

Use them manners you’re momma taught you…that is the challenge for Day 6.

When I was a child, I was always taught to use my manners.  It was always please and thank you.  Being raised in the south, I was also taught to say yes ma’am and yes sir.  It was ingrained in me at such a young age so I still do it to this day.  Oddly enough, that is offensive to some folks.  While I was in college I lived in Indiana.  I always said ma’am or sir and for whatever reason not everyone looked at that as a sign of respect.  Now, at 42, when I say ma’am to someone not quite as old as I am, the odds of them getting offended and scolding me is pretty high.  That makes me very sad.  I’m not saying it to imply they  are older than I am or to be rude.  Quite the opposite actually.  I’m saying it to be respectful because I was raised that way.  It’s a shame how that has been lost over the generations.

Yesterday, my husband and I along with my 11-year-old daughter and our two dogs took a road trip to New York to see some of my husband’s family who live in the beautiful Catskill Mountains. During our 12 hour road trip, you can imagine we stopped a few times.  Each time we did, I made sure to use my manners and made sure my husband and daughter did the same.  There’s no real hope for the dogs as they just barge their way around sniffing and squatting.  My husband always opens the doors for us as well as anyone going in or coming out at the same time.  My daughter made sure to say thank you when the lady behind the counter handed her the chocolate frosty she ordered.  It felt good to see my family think of others and practice respect.  It makes me thankful that my mother raised me to do the same.

In addition to the please and thank you’s, there are a few manners that I see are just not taught much anymore.  Why are so many people chewing with their mouths open so the whole world can see what they are eating or talking with their mouths full of food while bits are spattered across the table and onto the food of others at the table.  GROSS!!!  Why is that now okay?  No one wants to see what you are eating or get spit on.  Please people…let’s practice some table manners.

squirrel

Okay, I’m off my soap box about the missing table manners, but man is it a pet peeve of mine.  The purpose of today’s challenge was to make sure that we are courteous and respectful.  It really makes a difference to someone when you treat them with just plain old simple respect.  If you have children and they remember to say please or thank you, it will almost always get a smile and a compliment from the person on the receiving end and it’s not really that hard.

Thanks Mom, for teaching me my manners and to respect others.  I will do my best to make sure my children do the same.

Next on the challenge is to sing out loud in my car.  Let’s see how many people I can get to laugh at me.

