Tags

social media, facebook, instagram, twitter

The challenge for day 5 is to stay off social media.  My husband thought today would be impossible for me, but I welcome it actually.  I am not what you would call a Facebook junkie, but I do spend a bit of time there each day along with Instagram so he thinks I can’t go without it.

Well, I am glad to say I proved him wrong.  I have been off social media for over 24 hours.  I have not once clicked on that blue square and scrolled through all 400+ friends.  I have no idea what anyone across the country is doing or has done and I’m ok with it.  I haven’t checked Instagram or Twitter or anything else.  I am not saying I’m done with social media forever, but I definitely can live without checking it each day.  I do like to keep up with Instagram because my older kids do post some of their photos there, but they have outgrown Facebook so I won’t miss anything there.  I will check Facebook periodically as my friends from Texas and my family use it and I do like seeing their photos and what they are up to.

It’s amazing how liberating it was to not give into the urge to go there yesterday.  I really didn’t have too much trouble throughout the afternoon as I was busy helping my husband with some final tasks with his now previous employer, but later in the evening when we were all settling down from the day, I finally felt the need to check but instead I chose to read.  I love reading, but rarely take the time to sit down and read.  I like to read mystery novels…whodunits.  So instead of being tied to social media throughout the day, I vow to do more reading.

I do have a Facebook page that I use to provide support and resources for other survivors of abuse and I will keep up with that page throughout the day sharing posts and trying to provide some inspiration.  My personal page, however, is not going to see me as often.

Some say social media has ruined our communication skills.  I don’t disagree.  It has taken away our ability to communicate effectively.  Too many times we are quick to use abbreviations or acronyms instead of taking the time to use our words appropriately and completely.  It has also taken away that personal aspect that goes with picking up the phone and talking to someone.  We don’t write letters anymore either, we just check out social media and feel like we are still communicating with our friends and family.

That couldn’t be further from the truth.  We are only seeing a part of what is really going on.  We only see what they are willing to share with their group of friends or with the public depending on their personal settings.  Now of course some share too much, but even then there is so much under the surface that we are not seeing.  Why not pick up the phone and ask how they are or try writing a letter like we did in the ‘old days’?  Sure it costs nearly 50 cents, but who can’t afford that?  Plus, it makes someone feel special to know you took the time to sit down and write to them.  I know I love receiving cards or letters in the mail.

Well today’s challenge got me to thinking.  It made me realize that I’m not really taking the time to communicate with my friends and family like they deserve.  So when I get the urge to scroll through my newsfeed, I will pick up a pen and a notepad and write a letter to one of my friends instead.  Maybe it will catch on and others will start the same.  Maybe it won’t, but it will make a difference in how I communicate moving forward.

5 days down in my challenge to be a better me and I already feel better.  I feel more aware of how I treat myself and others and strive to do a better job.

To see all 21 days of the challenge click here.

