Tags

, ,

love yourself

Yesterday I wrote a blog about challenging myself to be a better me.  In an attempt to force myself to follow through with this challenge, I plan to write about what I’ve done each day.  You can read the 21 day challenge here.

Today is Day 1 and I am supposed to compliment myself.  As I said yesterday, I have always had a difficult time accepting compliments so this one is definitely a challenge.  I started this challenge by drafting a list of positive things about me.

  1. I have a strong faith in God.
  2. I am compassionate and empathetic.
  3. I am pretty organized.
  4. I have a huge heart.
  5. I am a great cook.
  6. I am a good listener.
  7. I love deeply.
  8. I am extremely passionate about things that are important to me, but honor others’ opinions.
  9. I am open minded.
  10. I am not a hypocrite.
  11. I am intelligent.
  12. I love to help others.
  13. I am pragmatic.

So there’s my list.  It was a bit difficult at first as most of what came to mind were my faults or negative things instead.  As I got going, it began to get much easier, surprisingly.

I was asked many years ago by a therapist to make the same list.  I was not able to come up with one single thing for several minutes.  I remember being extremely uncomfortable with the request.  My ability to do this now without discomfort lets me know that I am well on my way to healing.  Woohoo!!

There are two ways of loving yourself.  One is being conceited or arrogant, thinking you are better than everyone else which is a sin and then there is naturally loving yourself which is what God intended for each of us.

– Love your neighbor as yourself.  There is no commandment greater than these.

Mark 12:31

We must first love ourselves so that we may properly love others.  Without loving and understanding ourselves, how are we capable of establishing boundaries for others to love us. If we don’t love ourselves we often allow others to mistreat us, hurt us and use us.

Search within yourself to make your own list of positive things and start loving yourself more.  I feel better already.

Tomorrow’s challenge…Complement a Stranger.  I can’t wait!

 

 

