Tags

, ,

you have the powerIs your life exactly the way you planned it to be?  If you can answer yes to that, Congratulations, but if you are like most of us and say No or not even close, that is absolutely ok.  Many of us have suffered abuse of some sort and at no point in life did we say I want to be abused someday.  But it still happened and can continue to happen unfortunately if you allow it.

It doesn’t have to continue for you though.  You have the power to change the ending of your story.  You have the power to make a change for the better.  All you need to start is to believe in yourself, ask God for help, and trust that with Him, all things are possible.

It won’t be easy, but it will be easier than what you’ve been living with.  Take things one day at a time, make a plan, and stay positive.  I spent years thinking I had no way out.  I had children, I didn’t think I made enough money to make it on my own, I thought he might change.  Bottom line, I was scared.  I knew that I had to make a change or accept spending the rest of my life miserable.

I made a plan, I asked God to help me and protect me and I took baby steps.  I broke down and asked a friend if I could stay with her for a few weeks until I could get an apartment.  I lived in a small bedroom with a twin bed and shared it with my girls.  It wasn’t ideal, but it worked.  I finally got an apartment…again it wasn’t ideal, but it worked.  We had to make sacrifices.  My girls missed their dad.  Heck I think there was even a part of me that missed him at first.  That’s all I had known for 13 years.  He wasn’t all bad.  He had good qualities and that is what I missed.  Eventually I was able to see that leaving was the best thing for all of us.  My kids were happier, he became more involved in their lives, I was happier and life was getting better.  It wasn’t perfect and there were bad days…really rotten days.  There were even days I thought I should go back.  I came really close to going back once.  He said he would change.  He said he finally realized the mistakes he made and promised to never make them again.  I wanted to believe that, but I knew I couldn’t.  We weren’t good for each other and never were going to be and I could live with that.

Life definitely got better.  I finally knew true happiness and was moving in the right direction with my life.  I was closer to God, closer to my kids, and I was providing a much better example for them than I had living with their father.  Now it’s a few years later and I am so glad that I took that leap of faith and changed my story.  I have a much better story to live and I see a very happy ending in the not so near future.  I love my life.  I share it with the love of my life and my children.  I live in a beautiful place and can see a life full of happiness now, something I couldn’t see 5 years ago.

Making a change isn’t easy, but nothing worthwhile ever came easy.  If your story needs a better ending, start to make that change today.  Remember, you have the power!

 

 

