love food.jpg

Do you have something that you go to when you’re upset or stressed or bored?  Do you have a vice?  My vice is food.  I have always said I’m obsessed with food.  I love food, all kinds of food.  Food makes me feel happy.  When I’m sick to my stomach I eat to feel better.  When I’m bored, I eat.  When I am sad I eat.  I wake up in the morning thinking about what I’m going to eat for breakfast.  While I’m eating breakfast, I’m thinking about lunch.

When I was 5 years old, my mother taught me how to cook.  I remember having to push a chair up to the stove so that I could see inside the pot.  It was just my mom and my siblings so when she had to work, I would prepare dinner for all of us.  I think that started my obsession. I started going to the grocery store with my mom and once I started driving, I did the grocery shopping myself.  When my friends wanted to go to the mall and shop for the newest styles, I was making a shopping list and headed to Kroger.  I would start in the produce section and go row by row down every single aisle until my cart was full.  I had a system with stacking my cart, unloading it onto the belt at the check out line and even when I got home and unpacked everything.  I would clean out the refrigerator and reload it with all the new goodies I had just brought home.  It made me feel good.  It oddly gave me some sort of purpose.

As I got older, I was always being complimented on my cooking.  Now I was no fancy chef.  I would experiment with seasonings and ingredients and every once in awhile I would try a fancy recipe, but most of my cooking was just good ole fashioned traditional food.

I once dreamed of being a chef in my own restaurant.  That dream never came to fruition, but I won’t complain.  I wouldn’t have had time to spend with my family or experience some of the challenges I have been faced with.  I did run a small catering business for a couple of years and I baked specialty cakes for almost 20 years.

Now I just cook for my family which I absolutely love doing.  I try a lot of new recipes, many of which I find from Pinterest.  Might I mention, how much I love Pinterest.  It is the main site I use to look for recipes.  They have so many different versions of the same recipes so I can choose which one to follow based on the ingredients I already have at home.

I still love to grocery shop and I would choose that over any other type of shopping out there.  I see an ingredient and I get excited to try something new with it.  Now as much as I love to grocery shop and cook, eating my creation is my favorite thing to do with food.  When the flavors that I have combined meet my taste buds, it is like fireworks shooting off in my mouth in grand finale style.  It’s fantastic and very satisfying.

I always say I don’t eat because I’m hungry, I eat because I enjoy the flavor and taste of food.  Food is my comfort, my comfort is food.

What is your vice?

 

