Tags

What is faith to you?  To me faith is all about God.  I have 100% faith in God.  I know that with Him all things are possible and I trust Him with my life completely.  Now don’t get me wrong…sometimes that is a true challenge.  I have my moments where I’m just not sure how I am going to get through each chapter of my life or if I am even going to get through, but I always do with the grace of God.  He may have a different path for me than I thought I’d travel, but I know with everything in me that God will guide me and will not give me more than I can carry.

faith-is

Lately my faith has been tested.  I lost my job right after the holidays with absolutely no warning.  I went in to work one Monday morning and within 30 minutes I was fired and packing my things.  It was a complete shock and threw me for a major loop.  I had given my whole heart to my job and worked very hard at it.  Now I was being told that I had to pack my things and leave without even saying goodbye.  I had never been fired before and never thought I would be.  I was told I violated a company policy, but when I explained that what I did was not a violation, I was told that I was in an at will position and a reason wasn’t required to fire me.  That was a huge blow to my self esteem at first.  I have always been a rule follower even if I didn’t agree with them.  However, as the week passed, I learned that not only were my services for victims no longer needed, the organization that we worked closely with to provide other much needed services for victims was shut out as well.  I’m not really sure what has gone on, but over the past 6 months, all of us that helped victims were forced out.  Now the county has no direct victim services anymore unless specifically requested (which we all know doesn’t happen often enough).  I just couldn’t understand that.  Why does it seem like victims don’t matter?  Well, that question, I will never have the answer to.  I don’t know what the future holds for the county legal system, but I now know that had I still been working there when ties were cut with the local women’s support center, I would have quit anyway.  So I guess God gave me a way out before I even knew I needed it.

Now, being without a job is very stressful.  My family has lost my income and we can’t really afford that so that begs the question…why would God put us through this?  Well, I don’t really look at it like that.  After the first couple of weeks out of work, I started to feel this surge of energy.  All these ideas were popping in my head about how I could find other ways to make money while at home.  It’s going to take quite some time to build my business and make it profitable, but I know where those ideas came from.  I know where the excitement came from and the determination.  It came from God.  God is leading me in the direction that He wants me to go.  So far we have made it financially, but I will have to find another job at least part-time while I start this new venture.  I have a lot of steps to take before money will start coming in so I have to supplement my income somehow.  The thing is, I am not worried about it.  I have faith that God will take care of my family.  I know that we will get through this.  It might be tough, but we can handle tough.  God has a plan and now I am starting to see that plan.  He has been preparing me for this my whole life and I finally see it.  Having complete faith in God is going to get me through this and anything else that comes my way.  That is such an AWESOME feeling!  I have never been so sure of anything before.  Without faith, I don’t know how I would get through this session of my life.

With all that said…having faith doesn’t mean just sitting back and waiting for God to do what needs to be done.  It’s my turn to work for God.  He’s giving me the floor plan, but I have to put in the work.  It’s time for me to build our future and I’m ready.  I’m more than ready.

Now if I can just get my wonderful husband to experience this faith then he wouldn’t worry so much.  With God’s help, he will get there.  I have faith!!

 

