Tags

, ,

Life_is_a_journeyStarting when I was a small girl, I wanted to be a police officer, a chef, restaurant owner, executive on Wall Street, a psychologist, a kindergarten teacher, etc…  Well I haven’t made it to any of those yet.  The closest I came was a substitute teacher for a short while.  I also dreamed of having a loving husband and family and live in a big stone house with a swing set out back for my kids and a porch swing for me and my husband.  I used to draw that house over and over stone by stone with the swings.  I pictured myself growing old watching my grandchildren run and play in the yard.

Life doesn’t always work out the way we plan it when we are young.  Sometimes it works out better.  Sometimes it takes longer to get where you want.  Sometimes life gets in the way and you have to improvise.  I look back at my life with very few regrets.  I do wish I had made better choices in certain situations, but I am happy with my life.  There are still things that I wish were better or different, but I trust that in due time, my life will be exactly where it is supposed to be.  God has a plan for me.  Maybe it wasn’t the exact one I had planned when I was young, but it must be a better plan.  I have that loving husband and wonderful children who love me.  I also have that front porch swing that my husband and I often sit in and enjoy life.  Sure, the road was pretty bumpy along the way and I hit some major pot holes, but I learned some very valuable lessons.  I learned to trust in God and in myself.  I learned that negativity will destroy your mind if you let it.  I learned that it’s okay to think the best of people even if they aren’t the best of people.  I appreciate life and all that it has to offer me.  I get to help people almost every day and that is really all I’ve ever wanted to do.  I would say I am pretty lucky.

When life takes a left turn instead of the right turn you were aiming for, just go with it for a little bit.  See if it turns out better than you expected.  If not, make a U-turn and head back the other way.  You have that choice.  If you don’t like the direction your life is heading, change it.  It’s not always easy, but it will definitely be worth it in the long run.  Strive for your success.  Don’t look back at the past as a hindrance.  Look at it as a class that you had to take and hated.  Use the lessons learned to make a better future.  Don’t give up even when it’s just easier to be content with where you are.  We only have one life.  Cherish it and honor the time you have here.  Make your life journey the best adventure possible.

